Depression is funny, sometimes

It’s funny, isn’t it?
moody and unpredictable,
not always for good-intentions
It lets you live in the heights of your life,
not forgetting your pitfalls
The first intentions,
is to take away something, everything
from you

In the abyss, no courage to define
It lets you take one moment at a time,
blissful, but ignorant,
It tells you to reach for the highest,
unachievable goals,
only to watch you fall from another building,
popcorn in hand
It takes you to different dimensions,
mindscapes and perspectives,
and ignites those flames,
burning all hope for survival

I can see possibilities when it’s not around,
I wash my hands from it,
clean conscious,
but I lie and it lies with me
with a heavy breath
blind love

I am not like depression
she wants to hold me back,
press everything I’ve got out
like a toothpaste tube on brink of disposal
It manifests into unintentional rage,
fester in my skin,
ready to pop like a forehead pimple
It erupts and I take shelter

She plans my defeats,
and I let her
Because her voice is stronger,
and my resilience dims
Flames ignite, passions ablaze
in the night, a distant campfire in the desert
Alamo of self-defeats

She has her intentions, I have mine,
but I cannot abandon her
I have tried to find her a new home, across town
with loving roommates and my adolescent attitudes
a garden to grow compassion
but she refuses

You see, her and I are singular,
the body runs half-speed with just one lung
she houses the other,
I breathe in my future,
exhale the past and present
She holds more of me
but I hold the resilience

I say, go find work, stay busy,
I won’t forget you,
you are a part of me,
and I, you
spread your wildfires,
grow your sunflowers in the dead of winter
and breathe in possibilities
we laugh,
and I see her for who she is

She’s funny, sometimes, isn’t she?

 

Follow @insidethemindwrite on Instagram for more inspirational, mindful posts!

Leave a comment